Say it ain’t so MBTA

The MBTA never fails to whine about how they aren’t making money. I think I uncovered one of the reasons why they are finding it difficult to turn a profit. I swiped my card one day and the turnstile failed to issue the ear splitting BEEEEP. I looked down and saw a bunch of icons, My Computer, My Network, you see where I’m going with this. Windows is present on every single turnstile in the MBTA system which means that Boston pays a license fee for EVERY SINGLE TURNSTILE. WTF?

I’ll be honest here, the idea that Windows controls two pieces of glass which lunge at me every time I try to exit a T Station frightens the crap out of me. Also note the crappiness of the picture below. I can only offer the following explanation. I was pressed for time, there was a video camera pointed right at me, and it is still a violation of MBTA policy to take pictures! The brains behind the turnstile

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    WTF indeed. That is the most ridiculous thing I’ve heard in a long time.

  2. 2

    Tim said,

    I’ve got to call them one of these days and see if they actually pay licensing and servicing fees on each one of those things.

  3. 3

    Dan said,

    Funny. because the fare systems on the busses run linux, I’m pretty sure I saw Tux when one of them was rebooting


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

